The FINAL Score

As more and more time has passed, it is time once again to revisit the Game Plan. In this plan I stated two very explicit goals.

 

Goal #1: participate in local and global learning communities to explore creative applications of technology to improve student learning.

 

As I look back to see how I have attempted to reach this goal, I feel pretty comfortable in my progress. I have continued to use Twitter. I have become quite dependent upon Twitter for many of my resources and many of the educational discussions taking place throughout the global educational setting. I have begun to see the use and purpose of a real time resource generator as well as a way to connect to others who are having meaningful discussions. I have also begun to develop my LinkedIn network. There seems to be many great discussions and topics being posted in several groups that fall under the educational realm. Two such groups are “Game Based Learning” and “Technology Integration in Education”. Both of these groups are having very interesting and relevant discussions about many aspects of technology in regards to education.

 

Goal #2: contribute to the effectiveness, vitality, and self-renewal of the teaching profession and of their school and community.

 

This goal is a bit more difficult for me to assess. Since the initial post, I have had the opportunity to share some ideas and resources to numerous groups of educators. In each and every session I have consciously attempted to be as positive as possible with all participants. Many times, these teachers are very positive. However, many times there are also those who are not so positive.

 

Setting goals, implementing actions, monitoring progress and evaluating the success of lesson plans and self set goals has been a great experience. Many times as educators we do not take the time to reflect upon our practices. We also usually operate within closed doors and maybe are not as transparent as we need to be.

I have recently been doing some research and exploration of the “flipped classroom” model. I am interested in recording screen casts, providing classroom content to students outside of the traditional settings, and moving to problem/project based learning during traditional class time. I will keep you posted on the progress of this new goal.

~ by Dean Phillips on June 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
